U20 Women’s World Cup 2014 Final: Nigeria (0-1) Germany

U20 Women World Cup 2014 Final: Nigeria v Germany

Result: Nigeria (0-1) Germany, goal scorer: Lena Petermann 98′.

Third place, France (3-2) North Korea.

Preview:

The final of the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Canada will be between Nigeria and Germany. This match is a repeat of the 2010 final which Germany won 2–0, so the Nigerians girls will have one thing in mind-revenge.

Germany is playing for its third title, and Nigeria would be the first African team to win the title. The game kicks off at midnight UK time, which is on Sunday, 24th August 7p.m local time.

The match is being played at the Olympic Stadium in Montreal with referee Carol Anne Chenard, and the game is being shown live on British Eurosport in the UK.

To get to the final, the Super Falconets U20 marshalled by speed racer, Asisat Oshoala pummelled Korea DPR by 6-2 in the semifinals played on Wednesday in Moncton.with Oshoala scoring four times and assisting in the two other goals.

On their impressive road to the final

NIGERIA U-20 GERMANY U-20
07/08 Mexico 1-1 Nigeria
09/08 Korea Rep 1-2 Nigeria
14/08 Nigeria 2-1 England
17/08 Nigeria 4-1 New Zealand
20/08 Korea DPR 2-6 Nigeria
06/08 Germany 2-0 U.S.A
09/08 Germany 5-5 China PR
12/08 Brazil 1-5 Germany
17/08 Germany 2-0 Canada
21/08 Germany 2-1 France

Head-to-head: The Africans have met twice with the Germans who won on both occassions:

  • 5-4 quarter-final victory on penalties after 1-1 draw at full time at Thailand 2004
  • 2-0 win in the final FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup at Germany 2010

What time does Nigeria vs Germany around the world:

Sunday, 24th August 2014:

  • Los Angeles, United States: 4 p.m
  • Bogotá, Colombia: 6 p.m
  • Mexico City, Mexico: 6 p.m
  • New York City, United States: 7 p.m
  • Montreal, Canada: 7 p.m
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina: 8 p.m
  • Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, Brazil: 8 p.m

Monday, 25th August 2014:

  • London, United Kingdom: 12 a.m midnight
  • Lagos, Nigeria: 12 a.m midnight
  • Paris, France: 1 a.m
  • Cairo, Istanbul, Tel Aviv: 2 a.m
  • Moscow, Russia: 3 a.m
  • Karachi, Lahore Pakistan: 4 a.m
  • Dhaka, Bangladesh: 5 a.m
  • Bangkok and Jakarta: 6 a.m
  • Kuala Lumpur, Manila, Shanghai, and Beijing: 7 a.m
  • Osaka and Tokyo: 8 a.m
  • Seoul, South Korea: 8 a.m
  • Melbourne & Sydney Australia: 9 a.m

One response

  1. I know the Nigerians are an emerging power in the women’s game, and it’s going to be a different story this time. Believe me on this one…

Write here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.